Les McMahon
Chairman - AR Bluett Memorial Award 

Phone: 0412 303 719
[email protected]

For technical questions:
Zhanna Coleman

[email protected]

AR Bluett Award page banner

AR Bluett Memorial Award


The AR Bluett Memorial Award has been awarded annually since 1945. The award is contested each year by councils in NSW who would like to be recognised as being the most progressive in the state.

How to apply

Entries for the 2023 Awards will open on 1 June 2023 and close on 31 July 2023.

Entry is open to all NSW councils irrespective of size or resources. The awards trustees encourage NSW councils to enter these prestigious awards and are interested in all aspects of council operations and services.

An entry fee of $750 is payable to cover the costs incurred in judging and administering the Award. On receipt of the council’s entry in the Award, Local Government NSW, on behalf of the Trustees, will invoice your council. 

There are two categories for the Bluett Awards:

  1. City and Regional Councils – this includes city, metropolitan and major regional rural councils.
  2. Rural Councils – this includes all other rural councils. The Trustees believe the two categories provide fairness and equity for all councils, while at the same time preserving the original intent of the Trust Deed to judge councils on relative progress.

For further details on how to enter and to learn how the Awards are judged, download the flyer below. 

AR Bluett Awards Entry Information

Who was Albert Robert Bluett?

Albert Robert Bluett was an outstanding figure in Local Government, serving as the Secretary and Solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW for 30 years. He was the authority on local government law and his opinion was respected by the legal profession and Ministers of the crown. He helped to write the Local Government Act of 1919.

Following Bluett's death in April 1944, the councils of NSW subscribed to a fund as a permanent memorial to his work. This money funds the bronze plaques, awarded to the winning councils each year. His legacy also lives on through the Bluett Local Government Handbook, often referred to as the Local Government bible.

2022 Winners

Winners of the 2022 Awards were announced at the LGNSW Annual Conference on 25 October 2022:

  • Northern Beaches Council – Metro category
  • Mid-Western Regional Council – Regional/Rural Category


No content found

No content found

No content found