Sign up today to create an account with LGNSW. This will allow easy access to update contact information, select communications preferences, register for courses and events, and access exclusive content.

Create Account


Local Government NSW presents annual awards that recognise significant achievements of councils, councillors and individual local government employees.

Please select from the below options to learn more about the award categories, including how to enter.

AR Bluett Award logo
AR Bluett Memorial Award

The pinnacle of local government achievement, this award recognises the most progressive councils in NSW.

Find out more

The distinctive RH Dougherty Award trophy.
RH Dougherty Awards

Recognising NSW councils that demonstrate excellence in communicating and reporting to their local communities.

Find out more

The 2023 winner of the Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability award.
Environment Awards

Celebrating outstanding achievements in managing and protecting the environment in local government areas.

Find out more

LGNSW Planning Awards 2023 Division C (population > 70,000 people) Winner - Penrith City Council St Marys 2041: A planning pathway towards a thriving strategic centre.
LGNSW Planning Awards

Recognising individuals and councils who demonstrate excellence in planning and development services.

Find out more

Tweed council general manager Troy Green, LGNSW President Darriea Turley AM, and Cr Ken Keith, Parkes Shire, Lifetime Achievement Award Winner.
LGNSW Service Awards

Recognising the efforts, achievements and commitment of long-serving elected members in local government.

Find out more

Forbes Shire Council, 2023 Leo Kelly Award win.
Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture

Recognising councils that are leaders in arts and culture and have excelled in strategic policy, planning, delivery and evaluation.

Find out more

Table menus for the 2023 Awards Dinner.
Local Government Week Awards

This event is held in Local Government Week to publicly recognise the efforts of councils in forging relationships of excellence with their communities.

Find out more

Pat Dixon Scholarship winner Kerryann Stanley, from Dubbo.
Cr Pat Dixon Memorial Scholarship

Available for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander council staff to undertake further study, training or research.

Find out more