Home  »  Calendar  »  Awards  »  AR Bluett Memorial Award
AR Bluett Memorial Award


Les McMahon
Chairman - A R Bluett Memorial Award 

Phone: 0412 303 719

For technical questions:
Damian Thomas

Phone: 02 9242 4063

AR Bluett Award logo

"The greatest accolade a council can achieve" and "The pinnacle of local government achievement".

The AR Bluett Memorial Award has been awarded annually since 1945. The award is contested each year by councils in NSW who would like to be recognised as being the most progressive in the state.

Entry is open to all NSW councils irrespective of size or resources. The awards trustees encourage NSW councils to enter these prestigious awards and are interested in all aspects of council operations and services.

Entries for the 2020 Awards are now closed.



Who was Albert Robert Bluett?

Albert Robert Bluett was an outstanding figure in Local Government, serving as the Secretary and Solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW for 30 years. He was the authority on local government law and his opinion was respected by the legal profession and Ministers of the crown. He helped to write the Local Government Act of 1919.

Following Bluett's death in April 1944, the councils of NSW subscribed to a fund as a permanent memorial to his work. This money funds the bronze plaques, awarded to the winning councils each year. His legacy also lives on through Bluett Local Government Handbook, often referred to as the Local Government bible.

2019 winners

Winners of the AR Bluett Award in 2019 were Shellharbour City Council (Metropolitan) and Bourke Shire Council (Rural/Regional).

Stephen Ward Scholarship

The Stephen Ward Scholarship is made available to at least one employee from each of the AR Bluett Memorial Award winning councils. The Scholarship (worth up to $2,500) is for the selected employees to undertake further study, professional development or research.

Stephen Ward was the Shires Association President from 1991-93. He was tragically killed in a plane crash in June 1993 while returning from a major local government forum.

Funds for the Stephen Ward Scholarship are raised from contributions from council, government agencies, professional associations, LGNSW, and individuals.