Model Asbestos Policy

In 2012, LGNSW, in partnership with the Heads of Asbestos Coordination Authorities (HACA), developed a Model Asbestos Policy which:

  • Can be used as the basis for councils’ own asbestos policies
  • Outlines councils’ important legislative obligations
  • Was developed with input from council representatives
  • Was issued to all councils by the Office of Local Government under section 23A of the Local Government Act 1993 in 2013.

In 2015, the Model Asbestos Policy was due for review and was revised by HACA.

Councils should use the revised Model Asbestos Policy (2015) as the basis for their asbestos policy.

Download the Model Asbestos Policy for NSW Councils (2015) (Word, 770KB)

Download the Guide to the Model Asbestos Policy for NSW councils (2015) (PDF, 739KB)

Revisions to the Model Asbestos Policy

The Model Asbestos Policy has been revised to include:

  • New waste regulations
  • New information about naturally occurring asbestos
  • More information about loose fill asbestos insulation
  • Reference to the Demolition work code of practice 2015
  • Reference to the NSW Asbestos Emergency Plan (2014) and the Disaster Assistance Guidelines (2015).

Download a summary of the changes to the Model Policy (PDF, 103KB).

Actions for councils

Councils must ensure they comply with the abovementioned legislation.

Councils with an asbestos policy based on the earlier Model Asbestos Policy are encouraged to update their asbestos policy.

Councils that have not yet adopted an asbestos policy based on the Model Asbestos Policy are encouraged to do so. 

Advice and assistance is available from LGNSW’s Project Manager – Asbestos Policy.

The General Manager has a duty to exercise due diligence to ensure that council complies with the Work Health and Safety Act 2011 (NSW) and the Work Health and Safety Regulation 2011 (NSW). This includes taking reasonable steps to ensure that council has and uses appropriate resources and processes to eliminate or minimise risks associated with asbestos.

Managers are responsible for ensuring workers who report to them have access to appropriate information, documentation and training.

Asbestos Management Training Workshops

LGNSW, in conjunction with the NSW Government, holds asbestos management training workshops across NSW to support councils in adopting the Model Asbestos Policy. See our Asbestos Training page for more detail.

Councils with an Asbestos Policy based on the Model Asbestos Policy

Armidale Regional Council

Ballina Shire Council

Bathurst Regional Council

Bayside Council

Bega Valley Shire Council

Berrigan Shire Council

Blacktown City Council

Blayney Shire Council

Blue Mountains City Council

Bogan Shire Council

Bourke Shire Council

Brewarrina Shire Council

Burwood Council

Cabonne Council

Camden Council

Canterbury-Bankstown Council

Carrathool Shire Council

Central Coast Council

Central Darling Shire Council

Cessnock City Council

City of Canada Bay Council

City of Lithgow Council

City of Parramatta Council

Clarence Valley Council

Cobar Shire Council

Coonamble Shire Council

Cootamundra - Gundagai Regional Council

Council of the City of  Ryde

Council of the City of Sydney

Cumberland Council

Dubbo Regional Council

Dungog Shire Council

Eurobodalla Shire Council

Fairfield City Council

Federation Council

Georges River Council

Gilgandra Shire Council

Glen Innes Severn Council

Goulburn Mulwaree Council

Greater Hume Shire Council

Gunnedah Shire Council

Hawkesbury City Council

Hay Shire Council

Hilltops Council

Inverell Shire Council

Junee Shire Council

Kempsey Shire Council

Leeton Shire Council

Lismore City Council

Liverpool City Council

Liverpool Plains Shire Council

Maitland City Council

Mid-Western Regional Council

Moree Plains Shire Council

Murray River Council

Nambucca Shire Council

Narrabri Shire Council

Narromine Shire Council

North Sydney Council

Northern Beaches Council

Oberon Council

Orange City Council

Penrith City Council

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Port Stephens Council

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council

Richmond Valley Council

Shellharbour City Council

Shoalhaven City Council

Singleton Council

Snowy Monaro Regional Council

Snowy Valleys Council

Strathfield Municipal Council

Sutherland Shire Council

Tamworth Regional Council

Tenterfield Shire Council

The Council of the Municipality of Hunters Hill

The Council of the Shire of Hornsby

The Hills Shire Council

Upper Hunter Shire Council

Upper Lachlan Shire Council

Wagga Wagga City Council

Walcha Council

Warren Shire Council

Waverley Council

Weddin Shire Council

Wentworth Shire Council

Willoughby City Council

Wingecarribee Shire Council

Wollondilly Shire Council

Wollongong City Council
Please check this list again soon as it is updated regularly.