Local Government Acts Taskforce

The Minister for Local Government, Hon Don Page MP, appointed a Local Government Acts Taskforce to develop new, modern legislation that meets the needs of the community and the Local Government sector.

The members of the Taskforce are: Mr John Turner (chair), Mrs Gabrielle Kibble AO, Dr Ian Tiley and Mr Stephen Blackadder.

In undertaking its work, the Taskforce is required to consult with key stakeholders and to take into account those recommendations of the Independent Local Government Review Panel that are adopted by the Government.

It is expected that the work of the Taskforce will result in the development of a modern Act for Local Government in NSW that is streamlined, written in plain language, reduces unnecessary red tape and easy to use.

The Taskforce provided its final report to the Minister for Local Government in October 2013. The Minister released the final report on 8 January 2014.