Media release - LGNSW opens nominations for 21st Annual Environment Awards

26 June 2018

NSW Councils are invited to recognise their achievements in preserving and protecting the environment and nominate in the 21st Local Government Excellence in the Environment Awards.

Local Government NSW (LGNSW) President Linda Scott said the Awards’ coming-of-age milestone was an opportunity to reflect on councils’ outstanding commitment to improving our local environment and celebrate new sustainable initiatives.

“Local Government invests more than $1.7 billion in environmental management annually,” Clr Scott said.

“Councils are responsible for maintaining and upgrading $142 billion in infrastructure and land assets, including parks, reserves, roads, community facilities, stormwater assets, waste management facilities and water and sewerage systems.

"Combine that economic power with a commitment to environmental sustainability and best practice, and you have a sector making a very real contribution to the environment in NSW."

Nominations are open across 15 categories, including the new Sustainable Infrastructure Award and culminating in the prestigious Local Sustainability Award for overall council performance and the Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability, recognising the achievements of an individual.

The Awards’ 13 other categories include:

  • Invasive species management
  • Water management
  • Climate change action
  • Resource recovery
  • Behaviour change in waste
  • Asbestos management
  • Communication, Education and Empowerment
  • Roadside environmental management
  • Community sharps management
  • Innovation in planning, policies and decision making
  • Natural environment protection and enhancement: on-ground works
  • Community waste services

Campbelltown City Council last year took out the Local Sustainability Award for their innovative funding approach. In 2017, the council’s Corporate Sustainability Fund loaned more than $600,000 to kick-start projects that enhance Council’s sustainability with loans to be paid back from savings achieved from increased efficiencies.

The Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability went to Carmel Hamilton for leadership on a suite of sustainable planning initiatives and policies within Penrith City Council.

Sponsors of the LGNSW Excellence in the Environment Awards include the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, Local Government Super, NSW Ministry of Health, Water Directorate, Department of Primary Industries, NSW Roadside Environment Committee, SafeWork NSW, and WolfPeak. 

Nominations close 30 July 2018.

More information on the Awards, which will be presented in Sydney in December, can be found here.


Media Enquiries

Toni Allan: 0412 774 441