Media Release: Lake Macquarie City Council and Moree Plains Shire Council announced as 2012 A R Bluett Memorial Award winners

29 October 2012

The announcement of Lake Macquarie City Council and Moree Plains Shire Council as A R Bluett Memorial Award winners for 2012 was greeted with spontaneous applause and excitement at the Local Government Association NSW conference held in Dubbo over the weekend.

Trust Chairman Graeme Fleming PSM, said that the awards are the premier award for local government in NSW, representing the pinnacle of achievement for local government, and judging proved a difficult process for the Trustees this year.

Lake Macquarie City Council, a rapidly growing area on the Central Coast, has been quite strategic in their decisions with a strong emphasis on sustainability from a financial, environmental, social and governance perspective.  Some of the achievements during the year included the Lake Macquarie Variety Playground which has been judged the best all abilities play space in Australia, extensive environmental programs, engagement of the community including youth, indigenous, seniors and those with disabilities, the $3.5million Cameron Park Community Centre, productivity improvement and cost containment programs, establishment of a new suburb of Lake Macquarie, the highest home and business solar generation in the Ausgrid network.

Moree Plains Shire Council against the backdrop of 10 years of drought and two major floods has achieved some great results with the $7.4M Artesian Aquatic Centre complex, an entrepreneurial approach to a new council headquarters complex, Civic precinct upgrade, new community library, initiation of the gateway project, as well as a strong meaningful engagement of the indigenous community.  They have also been active in the area of coal seam gas debate, the Australian Rural Local Roads Group and have obtained refugee friendly town status.

The Trustees also made special mention of the efforts of Wyong Shire Council and awarded a rarely presented Commendation Award for Murray Shire Council.

Trust Chairman Graeme Fleming concluded by saying, “at a time when local government is under increasing scrutiny, the Trustees were most impressed with the quality of the submissions for the 2012 award and would like to praise the level of excellence that exists within Local Government.”

“Local Government can be very proud of their achievements and this should be more widely acknowledged by other levels of Government and the general community”,  Mr Fleming said.


Media Enquiries:
Graeme Fleming         Chairman - AR Bluett Memorial Award: 0427 291 664