Public Holidays in NSW

Listed below are the NSW public holidays for 2018 to 2020.





New Year’s Day

Monday, 1 January

Tuesday, 1 January

Wednesday, 1 January

Australia Day

Friday, 26 January

*Monday, 28 January

*Monday, 27 January

Good Friday

Friday, 30 March

Friday, 19 April

Friday, 10 April

Easter Saturday – the Saturday following Good Friday

Saturday, 31 March

Saturday, 20 April

Saturday, 11 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 1 April

Sunday, 21 April

Sunday, 12 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 2 April

Monday, 22 April

Monday, 13 April

Anzac Day

Wednesday, 25 April

Thursday, 25 April

Saturday, 25 April

Queen’s Birthday

Monday, 11 June

Monday, 10 June

Monday, 8 June

Labour Day

Monday, 1 October

Monday, 7 October

Monday, 5 October

Christmas Day

Tuesday, 25 December

Wednesday, 25 December

Friday, 25 December

Boxing Day

Wednesday, 26 December

Thursday, 26 December

Saturday, 26 December

Additional Day


**Monday, 28 December

*From 31/12/11 when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.

** Additional public holiday for Saturday 26 December 2020, pursuant to section 4(a) of the Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW).

Councils will be notified of any further additions to public holidays through the Local Government Weekly. This page will also be updated.

Councils are advised that employees required to work on public holidays are entitled to be paid according to Clause 20A - Holidays of the Local Government (State) Award 2017.

More detailed information on public holidays for individual council areas and the table above can be found online at the Office of Industrial Relations.