Council Elections


Local Government NSW 

Phone: 02 9242 4000

Under the Local Government Act 1993, NSW council elections are held on the second Saturday in September every four years.

Council elections will be held from 8am-6pm on 4 September 2021.

In local council elections, voters elect representatives to all 128 councils in NSW. Each council is made up of between five and 15 councillors (one of whom is the mayor), who serve for a period of four years.

By-elections are held periodically when a vacancy occurs in a civic office e.g. a council member resigns or becomes a member of state or federal parliament.

NSW Electoral Commission website