Joanne Harney
LGNSW Policy Officer
P: 02 9242 4082
[email protected]

No content found

The late Cr Pat Dixon

Cr Pat Dixon Memorial Scholarship

The late Cr Pat Dixon was first elected to Armidale City Council in 1983 and worked tirelessly for the community she represented.

She is remembered as a trailblazer for Aboriginal women in local government.

In recognition of her service and achievements in local government, a scholarship has been established for Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander councillors and council staff members in NSW to undertake further study, professional development or research.

The scholarship is administered by LGNSW and recipients are determined by four trustees.

Applications for 2024 scholarships are being accepted until 2 May 2024.


2023 Pat Dixon Scholarship

Scholarships for the Cr Pat Dixon Memorial Scholarship in 2023 were awarded to two First Nations people in the local government sector.

Wiradjuri woman Cr Yvonne Weldon, an independent councillor from the City of Sydney, gained her scholarship to support her research in social and affordable housing, planning and housing alternative models. 

Wiradjuri man Joshua Staines, the Acting Social Strategy Program Manager from Penrith City Council, was awarded the scholarship to help support his Master of Business Administration at Southern Cross University.

Both successful applicants plan to use their new skills at their respective councils for the betterment of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in their communities and in the local government sector. 

View full Media release

Previous Scholarship Winners

2022 Pat Dixon Scholarship Winners media release
2021 Pat Dixon Scholarship Winners media release
2020 Pat Dixon Scholarship Winners media release
2019 Pat Dixon Scholarship Winner media release