Held annually, the Excellence in the Environment Awards aim to recognise outstanding achievements by NSW councils in managing and protecting the environment.

Eligibility and Divisions

Councils, county councils, regional groups of councils and other council-based organisations are eligible to enter. See conditions of entry below. 

The divisions have been updated for the 2023 Awards. For each of the awards, there are now four divisions based on the type of organisation and a council's population base:

  • Division A: for councils with a population less than 30,000
  • Division B: for councils with a population of 30,000-100,000
  • Division C: for councils with a population of more than 100,000
  • Division D: for JOs, ROCs and County Councils 

What the judges are looking for:

  • A sound rationale for the project
  • Challenging objectives that go beyond core business
  • How thoroughly the project has been implemented
  • Whether the project objectives were achieved
  • Creation of new opportunities and anticipation of future challenges.

No content found

No content found

No content found