Public Holidays in NSW

Listed below are the NSW public holidays for 2016 to 2018.





New Year’s Day

Friday, 1 January

Sunday, 1 January

Monday, 1 January

Additional Day*


Monday, 2 January*


Australia Day

Tuesday, 26 January

Thursday, 26 January

Friday, 26 January

Good Friday

Friday, 25 March

Friday, 14 April

Friday, 30 March

Easter Saturday – the Saturday following Good Friday

Saturday, 26 March

Saturday, 15 April

Saturday, 31 March

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 27 March

Sunday, 16 April

Sunday, 1 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 28 March

Monday, 17 April

Monday, 2 April

Anzac Day

Monday, 25 April

Tuesday, 25 April

Wednesday, 25 April

Queen’s Birthday

Monday, 13 June

Monday, 12 June

Monday, 11 June

Labour Day

Monday, 3 October

Monday, 2 October

Monday, 1 October

Christmas Day

Sunday, 25 December

Monday, 25 December

Tuesday, 25 December

Additional Day*

Tuesday, 27 December*



Boxing Day

Monday 26 December

Tuesday, 26 December

Wednesday, 26 December

From 31/12/11 when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.

From 31/12/11, the Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW)  provides for an extra public holiday to be added when Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend.

*Additional public holiday pursuant to the Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW).

Councils will be notified of any further additions to public holidays through the Local Government Weekly. This page will also be updated.

Councils are advised that employees required to work on public holidays are entitled to be paid according to Clause 20A - Holidays of the Local Government (State) Award 2014.

More detailed information on public holidays for individual council areas and the table above can be found online at the Office of Industrial Relations.