Local Government Week Awards Evening

  • Date:

    3 August 2017

  • Time:

    6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

  • Location:

    Doltone House, Jones Bay Wharf, South Pier, 26 – 32 Pirrama Road, Pyrmont, Sydney

The Local Government Week Awards Evening is a celebration of the great entries from councils across the state for the following awards:

RH Dougherty Awards - presented by LGNSW

Youth Week Awards - presented by the NSW Government

Heart Foundation Local Government Awards - presented by the Heart Foundation of New South Wales

NSW Disability Inclusion Awards - presented by NSW Department of Family and Community Services



Professionally-taken photos of the awards night are available: EventPix

Award Winners 2017

Read the full list of winners and judges' comments by category below.

RH Dougherty Awards - Excellence in Communication

Division A: population less than 30,000

Winner: Parkes Shire Council – Corporate Website and Social Media Channel Development

Judges’ comments: Excellent achievement for a superior entry. All their material reflected a well thought out and detailed approach and result. The use of colour and icons, segmenting the website was not only innovative but engaging. 

Highly Commended: Bland Shire Council – Connecting with our Community

Judges’ comments: A very focused clear problem identification and strategy response. The unique factor was the commitment to content, marketing, and principles – building audience for Bland’s Facebook channel reaching 800,000 people.

Division B - population 30,000 to 100,000

Winner: Wagga Wagga City Council – Wagga View

Judges’ comments: An outstanding effort by Wagga Wagga. The well-developed comms strategy combined with innovative and fun methods of execution and encouragement as well as an appealing, eye catching use of design throughout all materials make this a clear winner.

Highly Commended: Tamworth Regional Council – 31 Days & 31 Ways (council serves the community)

Division C - population more than 100,000
Winner: Central Coast Council – Bato Yard Official Opening

Judges’ comments: The opening of Bato Yard, the newest skate place in the central coast, was innovative, exciting, engaging, and impressive.

Highly Commended: City of Ryde – Design our Ryde International Design Competition 

Judges’ comments: The energy, passion and pride within the council and its community is a corner stone in the project and its execution. A great effort.


RH Dougherty Awards - Reporting to your Community

Division A – population less than 30,000

Winner: Upper Lachlan Shire Council – Connecting with our Community: Upper Lachlan Shire Council Facebook Page

Judges’ comments: Council’s determination to ensure all segments of the community, in particular the younger groups, were receiving information the way they preferred, demonstrated an understanding of the importance and value of reporting.

Division B - population 30,000 to 100,000

Division C - population more than 100,000
Highly Commended: City of Parramatta – Citizens Jury 5 Parramatta Square

Judges’ comments: This entry should be commended for the intimate manner in which they engaged with their community to truly understand and gain a diverse range of views to make their city greater.

RH Dougherty Awards - Innovation in Special Events

Division A: population less than 30,000


Highly Commended: Goulburn Mulwaree Council – Goulburn Historic Waterworks Steampunk Victoriana Fair

Judges’ comments: The event was a unique way to showcase an existing heritage item.  It clearly drew in an alternative audience and included local talent and produce.  We would suggest the evaluation could be refined and expanded but a great effort.

Division B: population 30,000 to 100,000


Winner: Cessnock City Council – Cessnock City Seniors Festival 2016

Judges’ comments: This project showed excellence in firstly engaging with a demographic to provide forty five varying activities which drew an increasing number to take part.

Division C - population more than 100,000

Winner: Tweed Shire Council – Food for Thought Forum

Judges’ comments: Tweed developed an innovative event bringing together a range of stakeholders.  It drew in all aspects of the food chain form growing, produce, retail to restaurants and consumers highlighting the sustainable benefits of sourcing locally and thus contributing to the local economy while promoting tourism.  This event is easily adaptable to replicate in other councils.

Highly Commended: Joint

Liverpool City council – ‘Food Fight’ – The Battle for Food Security

Northern Beaches Council – Taste of Manly 

RH Dougherty Awards - Outstanding Individual Contribution 

Winner: Leeton Shire Council – Brent Lawrence

Judges’ comments: The Brent Lawrence exemplifies what an open mind, open heart, open will can do (apologies to Otto Scharmer’s Theory U).  He sees what needs to be done, find a way to do it and steps forward to meet the next challenge.  Well done to Leeton Shire for seeing his potential and clearing the way for  Brent to achieve great outcomes for the Leeton community.  There is no doubt his body of work impacted on community with its effectiveness and innovative ideas.  He is well deserving of this accolade. Congratulations to both of you.

Highly Commended: Camden Council – Sarah Ryan


Heart Foundation Local Government Awards

Councils with populations 10,000 – 50,000

Winner: Kiama Municipal Council 

Councils with populations greater than 50,000

Highly Commended: Georges River Council 


Youth Week Local Government Awards

Best On-Going Commitment to Local Youth Week Programs 2017

Winner: Fairfield City Council 

Most Innovative Youth Week Program in 2017

Winner: Joint

Newcastle City Council
Shoalhaven City Council 

Best Small Council with the Most Outstanding Youth Week Program in 2017

Winner: Walgett Shire Council 

Best Local Youth Week Program in 2017

Winner: Joint

Dubbo Regional Council 
Port Macquarie-Hastings Council 

NSW Health Play Safe Sexual Health Project Award 2017

Winner: Dubbo Regional Council 

NSW Disability Inclusion Award, sponsored by the NSW Department of Family and Community Services

Division A – population less than 30,000

Winner: Cobar Shire Council - Improving Access at The Youthie

Highly Commended: Bland Shire Council - Bland But Not Inaccessible

Division B - population 30,000 to 100,000

Winner: Wollondilly Shire Council Stars in the Garden: Music and Access All Areas Film Festival

Highly Commended: Strathfield Council – Strattie Strikers

Division C - population more than 100,000

Winner: Wollongong City Council – Wollongong New Year’s Eve Celebration – An Inclusive Event

Highly Commended: Port Macquarie-Hastings Council – Acess friendly Businesses

LGNSW Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Award

Division A – population less than 30,000

Winner: Griffith City Council – Centenary of Spears Projects

Division B - population 30,000 to 100,000

Winner: Wagga Wagga City Council – We are here - LGBTIQ stories of the Riverina exhibition, program and collection

Division C - population more than 100,000

Winner: Blacktown City Council – It's Our Thing – More History on  Australian Hip-Hop Project

Highly Commended: Coffs Harbour City Council – Creative Coffs - A new Cultural Strategic Plan 2017-2022 and Cultural Policy 



Elite Sponsor 


Category Sponsors